Soulfringe's Blog

Super Awesome Otaku Guy

Tari Ho!

It’s been awhile since I’ve done this blogging thing, yet I believe that my writing has undergone vast improvement thanks to school. Queue up the Aerosmith, because I’m back in the saddle again.

We have all no doubt seen at least the anime calendar from anidb or the most excellent visual guide to anime seasons from Moetron. If you are anything like me, you probably form a strong first impression based on the descriptions from the guide. Take for example, the first impression I formed for the new summer anime Tari Tari. I passed it off as more moe crap, and was going to pass on it.

Animation look familiar in that opening? If you watched Hanasaku Iroha, of course it does!! PA Works at work right there! PA Works is the studio that made Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari is their new show for the season. You might also be familiar with some of their other work too; Another, Canaan. Angel Beats and True Tears (Which I admittedly have no seen yet, though it’s had amazing reviews).
What I find to be most amazing about PA Works is not the amazing animation and gorgeous illustrations they have, but that they know how to handle moe. To PA Works moe has been more of a spice, not a selling point. It’s not something they try to cram down your throat like other studios have in recent years ( *cough* Kyoani *cough*) And for that, PA Works has my respect.

Now if moe is not the selling point to this new series, there should be some sort of content other than “cute girls doing cute things,” right? Indeed so. We have some female leads, the first off is Miyamoto Konatsu who is a member of the school choir, but for some reason, she is not allowed to sing as part of the choir. Then there is Sakai Wakana who seems to be fairly new to Konatsu’s class. There also is appears to be a trauma she has with music. These prove to be the current obstacles the girls must overcome in the first episodes. I’d tell you more, but I’d hate to give the story away, so just take my word for it and go watch it already! Seriously. Stop reading this. Go watch it! It’s on crunchyroll! Oh for crying out loud, here’s the link. Just click the damn thing.

July 14, 2012 Posted by | Anime, Uncategorized | Leave a comment